New Garden Friends Meeting Social Concerns Committee reviewed a revised resolution calling for City Council to set a goal of 100% clean renewable energy by 2040.  In April the Monthly Meeting endorsed an earlier version with a target date of 2035. The Social Concerns Committee recommends the revised resolution for consideration at the July 7 Monthly Meeting for Business.

Environmental Stewardship Greensboro (ESG), and other members of the Solar Power Now Coalition, has been engaged with City Council members, the Community Sustainability Council and an array of community stakeholders to advocate strongly for 100% clean, renewable energy. Solar Power Now has started a Go Fund Me campaign to place a full-page ad in the News & Record to show the Greensboro City Council the support that exists for the 100% clean energy resolution that we are asking them to adopt (on-line at: PROPOSED RESOLUTION ADOPTING A GOAL OF 100% CLEAN ENERGY BY 2040 and CREATING A TASK FORCE OF COMMUNITY STAKEHOLDERS) . Donors to this Go Fund Me campaign will have their names listed in the ad unless they indicate they wish to remain anonymous. Please contribute by using the QR code at the right or by cutting and pasting the following link into your browser:

The Solar Power Now Coalition leadership team includes:
Bill McNeil, convener, Environmental Stewardship Greensboro; Carol Bloom, member of League of Women Voters; Kathe Latham, Lead, Sierra Club Ready for 100 Greensboro, PPG; Margaret Rowlett, Greensboro Earth Quakers; Nelson Stover, President, Emerging Ecology; Nicole Gaines, NC Sierra Club Equity, Inclusion & Justice Committee; Sonalini Sapra, Guilford College, Center for Principled Problem Solving.

For more information about the Solar Power Now Coalition visit: @GSOSolarPower (on Twitter and Facebook) or gsosolarpowercoalition (Instagram), #FollowTheYellowUmbrellas, #solarpowernowGSO.

The leadership team of ESG has endorsed the Solar Power Now ad appeal and encourages your active support.
Yours in service,
Bill McNeil, Nelson Stover, Teri Flam-Goldberg and Vance Archer,
The ESG Leadership Team